HELP!! 1980 Yamaha XS650 special. Surges, loses acceleration

N8WAVES

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Fist off I'm new to bikes but i have done a lot of work and learning with this bike.
Its a 1980 Yamaha XS650 Special.

My bike has currently been un-rideable for about 6months now.
I will describe my symptoms as best as i can along with what i have already done to try and fix it.

My bike the best way i can describe it is it wont hold a constant acceleration while the bike is in gear.
If the bike is up on the stand there is no issue as i cycle through the gears and accelerate the engine. Once i get on it and start to ride if i hold down on the throttle and try and keep the bike cruising at (lets say 3000 rpms) The bike will "surge", "buck", decelerate and accelerate with out the manual movement of me moving the throttle at all. It now also has a hard time staying on at lights as well along with this problem.
This problem was a fast onset there was nothing leading up to this. The same day i noticed this problem my headlight went out as well.
I took apart the carbs thinking it was a carb problem they were perfect and clean. I looked to the fuel line and even put a new in line fuel filter in and still no avail. I traced the throttle cable and found no disturbances. I checked the plugs and wires and also no issue.
From here i was thinking electrical so i turned it into a local shop. The mechanic there kept it for 2 months and fixed the head light but could not fix the main problem. He checked my carbs as well and adjusted the floats and could not identify the problem. He said from here he might look at the electronic ignition (your thoughts??). I was thinking what about the Throttle position sensor(TPS) but does this bike have one?? I have no clue!!!
I'm so lost as to what to do and where to go. The bike has such a good engine it starts right up with no hesitation. I want to fix this and have spent countless hours working and asking for help and have only found walls.