Hopefully starting a full restoration, 78 SE

TheRepairMan

78 XS650SE owner
Reaction score
Hi guys! Excuse my first post here, but I'm not really new... I've been riding bikes since 1969. So now, I'm contemplating doing a full restoration on my very special, (bought it new) 78 Special very soon, and would like to learn all I can about keeping it completely showroom stock... just because they are hard to find that way... and, the bike has about 29,172 actual miles on the clock. I'm sure it needs lots of attention, but I'm not trying to make an everyday rider out of it. I have a much newer Yamaha for that.

I'm just wanting to get it to a point where I'd be proud to show it during the local car and bike events here. You know, cleaned up and running, but I "may" even leave some of the "patina" on it rather than try to make it into a new bike. The only original part, or parts I don't have is the exhaust system. It was rusted through so I replaced it with aftermarket stuff about 20 years ago. Other than that, the bike has been basically just sitting inside over the last 22 years. I've been busy raising a family, and making a living and stuff, but I have managed to collect a few spare parts over the years.

I've begun to read about this process, but not sure where to begin ...I guess with a full assessment of what I'm going to have to have (besides lots of money), but then what???

Oh, and there will be pictures! (Here they are... http://www.xs650.com/forum/showpost.php?p=144743&postcount=12)

Thanks ahead,
Roger

1978 XS650 SE
2006 FZ1

Last edited:
Welcome to the site.

Original owners of these bikes is somewhat rare, so good to have you aboard. I have a 78SE and find it easy to work on and a real treat to ride. By 78 Yamaha had most of the improvements developed but had not started all the goofy interlocks as on the later models.