I Am "The Frail Wizard"

StanleyAtwood

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Greetings, humans. ✌ I have been tagging along on some of your discussions for the last couple days, and finally decided to create an account and hopefully immerse myself in the community. I recently completed an MSF course and am now prepping to snag my first ride! I came across a 1977 Yamaha XS650 online and fell in love with the aesthetic. Unfortunately, the motorcycle guide book I am reading specifically warns against purchasing late-70s/early-80s Yamaha models because of their bad electrical habits (overcharging, "cooking batteries and voltage regulators"). I know that I can't rely on a single book as my sole source of information, so I thought I would ask you guys if you've ever experienced consistent or substantial issues with these electrical systems. I am brand new to riding, unfamiliar with motorcycle maintenance and repair, and hesitant to purchase such an old bike in case it isn't right for me. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Hello!
I'm new to the XS650 world, but one of the best upgrades I've read you can do to your bike regarding electrical is the PMA upgrade by HHB. And the PAMCO ignition swap. Supposed to make you bike pretty reliable. I haven't done it myself but have my eye on it when i have the dough.
Other than that, this bike is supposed to be built like a champ and easy to work with.

Greetings, humans. ✌

Welcome to the forum, StanleyAtwood.
And welcome to motorcycling.

The motorcycle guide book I am reading specifically warns against purchasing late-70s/early-80s Yamaha models because of their bad electrical habits (overcharging, "cooking batteries and voltage regulators").

That's probably a fair assessment, given the number of threads in here covering that subject. The senior members here have written much on troubleshooting and repair, so it's a quite manageable issue.

But, the question comes down to you versus antique bike ownership.