I think that I owe you gentlemen a build thread

Ngreen

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I think that I have been on here long enough being a vulture that it is time for me to start my own build thread. I am building a 1979. I started down the road of doing the "Brat style" build but eventually decided to do a monoshock bobber. This is my first street bike (ive had offroad bikes my whole life and ive ridden my dads harley quite a bit). More importantly this is my first build of any kind. before this project the only thing that I could do was change the oil in my truck. This build is as much about me learning how these things work and learning my way around the bike. so without further a do here is what i have done so far.

In order of the pictures that are attached.

1. This is what I started out with. A nice looking bike, but it had been wrecked and most of the parts were not original.

2. This is what I did with my first weekend of being a proud bike owner.

3. after several weeks of working in my cramped little sliver of my garage, I finally got my own dedicated shop. Not much but I dont have to continually worry about knocking something into the cars.

4. I had to get a good friend of mine to help me with fabricating the softtail. He did a great job. The mount looks great and everything functions as I planned. Only problem is I bought a monoshock that feels like a wet sponge with the weight of the bike and rider on it. we are currently reworking the mount to accept a stiffer shock and then hopefully I will be close to done on the frame!