Ignition Help with new Banshee charging system

KSAL

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Alright so i have a question that might be kind of dumb but im a noob so please be gentle. I did the banshee swap just as all the pictures had shown. Everything to a t. I followed the simple easy wiring diagram just hooked the 3 yellow wires out of the stator to to the new regulator i just got from from hugh. I hooked the red to the battery and the green to ground as it shows.

Now my bike wont start. I hit the electric start over and over and nothing. I know that stator is charging because i've been at it now for about 20 mins and its the battery isnt dead yet. So my question is i guess, when i unplugged the stock stator (2 plugs, one with 3 wires and the other with 6 wires) is there something im missing that needs power to start the bike that isn't getting it now??? Is there something within the ignition that was wired to the original stator??
Also for reference my bike ran like a top before i messed with it at all. It just didn't keep a charge.

Fuses good? You sure your battery is still charged? Any noises when button is pushed? Got a meter? What year is your ride? Research the useing "tech" and "search" tabs?. Not trying to beat you up, just getting info to work with.

I'm pretty sure the fuses are good. Like I said, the bike ran like a champ before changing out the charging system. I pulled the spark plugs out and kept the wires on them and i don't see any spark when hitting the starter button.

I do have a volt meter, and its a 81 special II.

I've been up and down the tech section and searched ignition, timing, all that but most is for the changing out the ignition. Any ideas on how to diagnose the spark issue? Where to look to see if something is shorted out or not getting proper power supply?