Leaky from Gearshift Lever

fiveohindc

'77 XS650
Reaction score
Noob here. Got a bit of oil coming from where the gearshift lever attaches. I'm waiting on my service manual to arrive, but thought I'd throw a pic out and see if you guys might tell me where to start to remedy it. I tried just tightening the screw but that didn't seem to stop it.

Mostly I'm asking because this winter I'm trying to dig into the bike more thoroughly and want to have parts/knowledge prepared ahead of time. Forgive me if it's stupid. The bike is a '77D.

photo-9.jpg

Behind that lever is your clutch pushrod seal, and another oil seal behind your front sprocket. They are notorious for leaking. Pull the foot peg, shift lever and that side cover off and take a peek. I'll bet money that one of those two seals are leaking. They are both a pretty cheap and easy fix with plenty of tutorials here on the forum.

Take a flash light, follow the chain up into there and see what it looks like. If its wet in there you've got a leak.

The seal behind the drive sprocket can be good, the leak comes from the nut being to loose. Even with the tab lock they seem to loosen up. Some finding them only finger tight.

Alright geniuses, more problems. I opened up the left cover like so-- removed footpeg, removed gear lever. Opened her up. Under the cover I saw a buttload of grime (I just picked this bike up in July at Mid-Ohio, no real knowledge of PO or history). Nothing alarming, just old and dirty. Obviously slowly leaking from somewhere but tough to tell.

Took clutch cable off the worm. Wore left cover as a party hat.