Little end blues

Nicko

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, i am new to xs650.com, I have resurrected a number of Japanese motorbikes over the years, I even had a go at a xs 650 b cafe racer, which started out as a basket case from dk motorcycles, see picture. I loved the bike so much I have always wanted to own one in standard spec, that’s where my troubles have started, mostly now sorted, however I don’t know where to go with this problem. I have searched the forum for more information, the advice seems that if 75% of the copper is left in the little end it should be ok.
the little end in question has <>75% left and with a little oil has no play when the grudgeon pin is in place and seems really smooth. My worry is the scarring and if I should rebuild the crank with a new conn rod. Any suggestions or advice would be welcome

Attachments

• IMG_5796.jpeg
    IMG_5796.jpeg
    296.6 KB · Views: 87
  • IMG_5797.jpeg
    IMG_5797.jpeg
    291.2 KB · Views: 83
  • AFA97032-1A61-43A1-8404-FD2C18AA72FD.jpeg
    AFA97032-1A61-43A1-8404-FD2C18AA72FD.jpeg
    531.4 KB · Views: 78
  • AAAEF8DA-5D36-4826-B661-1725A74EBE6D.jpeg
    AAAEF8DA-5D36-4826-B661-1725A74EBE6D.jpeg
    539.8 KB · Views: 80
woof.
Gauling is pretty bad, caused but over RPMing??
Safe bet would be to rebuild the crank with new rods and big end bearings.
Close look at mains...prolly ok but would think about a full refreshhhh.

Many Thanks for your advice, especially to jpdevol for the additional graphics, it looks like the safe bet is to replace the rods, and get the bearings checked, I am in the north east of England, are there any uk members who can recommend a good place to get the work carried out.

Your engine is a 447. make sure you get the right con-rods and associated parts. Euro model engines, from 75, were supplied with 553 internals. They do not mix and match.........................A 447 type bike and engine was probably imported from the US