Main fuse size - 30amp blowing

tmb99

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Just recently my bike started blowing the 30amp main fuse. It does it intermittently so it's a little difficult to diagnose. I have done wiggle tests on all wires without luck. It's all new and looks good.

I had friend who knows a bit about this stuff have a look and we couldn't find anything obvious. Checked coils and charging system and couldn't find anything going to ground. However do still suspect it is something in the charging system.

He suggested putting in a larger fuse. So I put in a 40amp and it has stopped blowing... which is great, however it's making me very nervous that its going to catch on fire!

End question here is 40amp too large for the main fuse?

I am no expert but I have read a ton here when I wired my bike and I would say that is too much. Plus going to bigger amp fuses will only mask a problem until it causes a much bigger problem.

On my bike - custom wiring job for my chopper - I have two basic circuits, one for the charging system and the other for everything else (lights, etc).

I was blowing my main fuse (a 20amp is big enough for my system). I disconnected the lighting (at the fuses) and the 20 amp still blew. I got fed up with fuses blowing so I put in a trip switch, very inexpensive, and just press to reset). So then I reconnected the lights and disconnected the charging system, pressed reset on the 20 amp trip switch and the lights came on. Bingo! the fault therefore was on the charging side. I was on points and the old rotor/stator then, and I found it was earthing at the bushes until I put in nylon screws. Fault found and remedied.

Anlaf

By the way, tmb99, wiggling wires might find a fault if you are lucky, but a multimeter is one of the best tools I have ever had - well worth, and inexpensive.

Anlaf