Mikes commando mufflers, carburetor tuning question

tkurt

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hi everyone, This is my first time posting but I have been appreciating the collective wisdom for awhile now.

My situation is this: i have a 1977 xs650 that was running great. It has new OEM air filters. I decided to change to MikesXS commando style mufflers. After swapping out, the bike started to stumble in 1st gear or neutral, but really lunged forward when shifting into 2nd and ran fine from there.

I decided to go to a size 27.5 pilot jet and 127.5 main, one up from stock because all I changed was the mufflers, no pod filters. Is this correct? It doesn't seem to have changed the problem. I tried to adjust the fuel/air mix by the dead cylinder method, and the bike runs OK on the left cylinder and plug, but I can't get the right cylinder to fire at all. When I hook up the left plug & wire to the right cylinder I get some backfires through the carb, but nothing else. Did I screw up the jets? Is something else off?

Thanks for your help!!!

Attachments

• IMG_0576.jpg
    IMG_0576.jpg
    269.3 KB · Views: 237
  • IMG_0579.jpg
    IMG_0579.jpg
    288.8 KB · Views: 230
Yea I like it too almost exactly the look I'm going for.. Less is more... Looks sweet and rugged... (and much nicer than the bobber/chopper crap people do to these bikes)

Last edited:
You may have had an electrical problem manifest itself at the same time you changed the mufflers. You can't just swap the plug wires. The cylinders fire 180° apart so the timing would be way off. That's why it just popped and backfired. If you want to test the plug/plug wire/plug cap/coil on the opposite cylinder to see if the problem changes sides, you need to switch the wires running to the coils from the points along with swapping the wires and plugs side to side.