Need a little help with single carb setup

KP73-650

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I just finished my single carb setup and intake. I have a mikuni vm36 carb with 200 and 25 jets. It has a straight exhaust no baffles n3c plugs. It starts and idles very well but when given too much throttle it backfires out of the left cylinder exhaust. I'm new to the carb bikes. I put the jet setup that another thread said he used into the carb. I'm not sure how to tell if it's a lean or rich backfire or if that's even possible. Any help would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    189.8 KB · Views: 804
I just finished my single carb setup and intake. I have a mikuni vm36 carb with 200 and 25 jets. It has a straight exhaust no baffles n3c plugs. It starts and idles very well but when given too much throttle it backfires out of the left cylinder exhaust. I'm new to the carb bikes. I put the jet setup that another thread said he used into the carb. I'm not sure how to tell if it's a lean or rich backfire or if that's even possible. Any help would be much appreciated.

Hi KP,
modified the frame too, dintcha? What you could have done was to weld an eye into the frame downtube to put the manifold through so it's legs would be the same length.
But would that matter? Look at the intake manifold on a straight 6 Chevy, 3 different intake lengths and they run OK.
If you have points ignition, check the spark timing, and for exhaust leaks too, before deciding it's a carb problem for sure.

I've tried to do some research on how to read the plugs. I need to start with a fresh set and see what happens. Anything done to the frame was done before I got it. Everything on the bike was done like that with the exception of the single set up. What plugs do you recommend?

I've always liked NGK BP8ES, though the recommended is BP7ES. Some fellows here like Autolite 63's. Could just run the cheaper plugs for diagnosing, upgrade after it's dialed-in...