need help and PATIENCE

jetero41

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I am new to xs's and read the forums deliberately but always seem to come up short on my specific answers, so I beg patience. I am prefectly willing to reveiw a prior thread if I have missed it and I am pointed in the right direction, so here goes.

CDI to points conversion- I have been acquiring the necessary and obvious parts but....
-is the cam the same?
-is there alist (or good source of info) for misc parts, seals, bearings etc. that also change
don't want to tear down only to find I'm coming up short on reassembly

Rear spoke to Mag- same info needed
-where can I find the most detailed info on parts needed

'83 Heritage Special- 447 ????

Thanks in advance, props for ALL that is here and apologies if I've missed the answers already

"I'll be baack"

Sorry no specific answers to your questions, but welcome to the mad house!
Conversion to a disk is not trivial, drum mags are kinda hard to find.
Why the points conversion?

Rear Disk, Mag wheel -not keeping drums

Points just get rough, CDI box pukes, you're walking or pushing
AND necessary to convert to permanent magnet alternater

The TCI will run with a p/m alternator. You just have to besure your regulator is working right. No overcharge, That will burn up the TCI. LOts of them out there.
At www.yamahaxs650.com You can find alot of the info you are looking for. Just install the points breaker plates instead of the Pamco.

xsleo, HUH!!!!!:banghead:
I've posted here before asking that very question- Will a P/M conversion work with TDI ?? Definitive answer was NO.:wtf: Help ??? Point me to the right source PLEASE.
:banghead:
Sure would be a lot simpler than TDI to points.:doh:

Rear Disk, Mag wheel -not keeping drums

wheel, disk, caliper, swing arm, torque rod, master cylinder, hoses, brake switch, linkage to correct pedal.
You will need to fabricate and weld hard points on the frame.
Not a trivial project