Need info about cranks

GreasyC

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I've got a 256 engine I'll be rebuilding over the winter. Not sure what I want to do with it yet but I'm looking over what I've got right now and the crank is pretty beat. The copper is worn out in the small ends and the left rod measures at the wear limit for side to side play.

Searching for replacement 256 rods hasn't gotten me anywhere so far. Anybody have a lead on that?

I'm doing some reading up on cranks right now because it's my first time messing with it and I have a couple general questions:

- Every crank balancing description I can find online assumes you can take the rods off and attach bobwieghts to the pins. That's not going to happen on an XS crank without tearing it apart so how do they balance this type of crank?

- On that topic, what is this type of crank? Most cranks seem to be made up of bell shaped counter weight sections, but the XS is all round wheels with some holes in them. Does this style have a name?

I believe the 256 cranks had lead counter-weights (which by reputation were prone to wander off on their own), so when you refer to "holes" in your crank I'm wondering if your crank met that fate (i.e. the counter weights are gone).

Most economical route would probably be to throw a 447 crank in it.

If you lost one of those lead weights it would have chewed your engine up. To run a 447 crank you're going to have to change pistons to 447 also. From what you're describing you can probably run what you've got for many more miles. Hope this helps.

P.S. I may have a couple of 256 rods laying around if you're interested.