New bike saying hello/ looking for opinions

82heritage

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Just picked up an 82 xs650 looks to be all original with 9k miles. Needs to be cleaned up and I am not so sure about the motor. The PO drove it to my house so it runs but the left side exhaust was throwing out some darkish smoke when revved up. I am going to change the oil clean the filters and all that. After that I want to clean the carb and possibly rebuild or have someone rebuild as I have never worked on one before.

Questions as I could not find these using search.

My starter engages but makes whirring and unhappy noises. All the reading I've done points to the #4 gear on the right side of the engine and the tension like clip that seems to wear out. Is this a pretty cut and dry job or does the clutch need to come out ?

Other question, Until I work that out I do not want to do any more damage and will try and kick start her.

What is the right method for doing this as I could not find a guide. Choke all the way and kick away or should I be giving it a little gas?

Also, on an 82 what position do I leave the petcock valve on when I am not running it until I replace it with a manual one ?

Thanks again,
Mike

Attachments

• photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    301.6 KB · Views: 59
  • photo1.jpg
    photo1.jpg
    306.7 KB · Views: 57
  • photo3.jpg
    photo3.jpg
    300.3 KB · Views: 61
Last edited:
Got home from work and pulled out the air box, removed what I think is called a highway guard or engine guard, removed the exhaust and headers, and drained the oil. The bike was definitely low as not more then a quart or so came out. The PO hadn't tightened the oil drain plug.

Mike

1.This Should get your starter going. Its in the Tech section at the top of the page.
http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthread.php?t=948