New guy. HELP PLEASEEE

maxwell

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I picked this bike up already bobbed. it's a one kick bike, and I looked it over and took it for a ride before i bought it. aside from some chain slap, which is no big deal, the bike is perfect and runs like a top. it's one of the more well known internet xs650's so i'm sure most of you have seen it around before.....

well, i took it for the first legit ride after getting it home yesterday and before i parked it i noticed some oil coming off the left case cover. i got nervous and started tracing it back, and then i found what looked to be a bad seal between the upper and lower head (if that makes sense? i'm still a little new to these motors)...

well anywho, i see a little hole filled with oil and i realize that there's a bolt missing there. i get all nervous and shit and start looking through my manual. i found a picture of the screw but i can't find a part number or even a name for it other than "the real engine bolt"...

Here's the picture - if anyone could tell me what this bolt is or even where to get it, i would be MUCH, MUUUUCH obliged...:

2011-04-22182722.jpg

That's one of the cylinder head bolts. Size is M6 x 35mm long. Torque is 7 ft/lbs. You could probably just get one at the hardware store. There should be a plain flat washer under it as well.

thanks! how bad is it that the bolt was missing? what could it mean for me in the future?

It's part of the head retaining set-up consisting of something like 15 bolts all over the top of the head. You should replace it or the head gasket may start leaking in that area. I think the original was partially threaded but I don't think that really matters - just having something in there is more important.

Welcome to the forum, maxwell. THAT is one good looking bike. I'm not a huge fan of the bobbers, but I really like that. Got any more pics?