New here, first project, old bike.

Asidun

XS650 Member
Reaction score
How's it going guys, I just bought a non-running 1975 XS off of craigslist.

The guy I bought it off of said that the original builder was on this forum and the bike was his avatar. After about an hour of looking around I found him, turns out I bought Royfisk's old bike.

Right now I have the bike semi broke down trying to figure out how the electrical works, or more accurately why it isn't working:banghead:

From what I can tell it looks much the same as when Royfisk had it. I think it's pretty cool and unique the way it's set up right now, so I don't aim to change an enormous amount about it (at least for now...). It's my first project bike so I look forward to harassing more knowledgeable members with my questions.

@Southerndime333 More like bloody. I went back to school a year and a half ago and kinda forgot about how working with metal = scabs.

@nj1639 Thanks for the tip in that direction. I posted on his thread about the bike here and he got in contact with me. Would be awesome to see if I can find an old build thread though...

@Spades I'll take a couple later today and post em up.

Clear tank.jpg

Pic as promised

The tank's not chromed, just stripped. I think I'm going to clear coat over the steel. I was going to patinate the tank with some gun blueing but I think it would make the bike look too much like a rat rod. Especially with the amount of spotty and peeling paint on the engine.

Motophile - Thanks man, I agree. I'm curious to see what it ends up looking like...:popcorn:

Ordered some goodies/necessities today. Pamco high output eic and carb rebuild kit off mikessx.com. From the state of the spark plugs the motor seems to be over rich. Hoping that this will get the bike running.

Hey, Asidun!