Newbie looking for advise.....

muddyape

Along for the ride
Reaction score
Looking at getting a XS650 to do a build. Been riding a Harley for the past few years (which I love and will never get rid of) but looking for a little brother. Found a 1973 xs650 (TX) just up the road. Looks good (says it was a barn find but who knows) wants $500. Not worried about the price, probably offer him $400 anyways but. Is a 73 ok? or should I look for '74 and up.? Seems there are some differences. Would I have a hard time with parts? Also, another guy is selling a '74 650 heritage special but says it was dropped and there is a holie in the oil tank? where are the oil tanks on these things? thanks in advance, great site. Here's my current ride.

Picture023.jpg

Hey Muddy good to see you on here, I'm over at HDforums also and I've always loved your bike.

As for the XS, I'm fairly new to them as well but I've been researching them for a couple years now. I got a 79 and I far as I know from 70-84 the basics are the same, engine, frame, Etc. Biggest differences I can think of besides cosmetics is different carbs and the ignition system upgrade in 1980. I guess it really comes down to what you are planning to do with it, chopper, bobber, cafe or restore. I went the bobber route so I shit canned most of the bike except for the engine, frame and a few of the basics.

Hope that helps and I know I'm missing somethings so the experts please feel free to chime in here.

The "Heritage Specials" were '82 & '83. The oil tank is incorporated in the engine case so I am assuming they mean a hole in the right (the left is dry) side engine case.
There were differences in the early and later motors, with parts availability better on the latter.
The frames/front ends were changed/improved '75 and on.
The electrics were changed in 79/80 going from points to electronic ing.
That was about it for Yamaha's contributions.
Since you've had numerous advances in the bike done by some great people.