(Noob) Shinko tire look on front wheel?

ryno

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm really new to this, so please use dummy terms. hah I also searched for this but didn't come up with much.
Anyways. I came across some bikes that I had imagined what my tire/wheel combination I wanted mine to look like.
I definitely wanted to use the Shinko Classic 240 as my rear, then realized that it's only offered for the 16" rear wheel (which is fine because thats what I have). Until I saw some of these bikes. Could anyone explain what they did here? It looks like the rear rim is an 18" and not 16".. Am I wrong or just dumb?
I see now that they are not Shinko's but actually Firestone Coker's. Which would explain, if these rears are in fact 18" how they got away with the Shinko look front and rear lol.

Also any guys with 16" Shinkos on their spoke wheels would help my mind at ease maybe?

Thanks guys.
2678713400_06498334f2_b.jpg

3674430201_9b6c081e7d_z.jpg

ryno, welcome!

I have no experience with bobbers, choppers, or brats, but it appears to me that both rims on each of the bikes pictured are 18s; I think the hardtail introduces an optical illusion of sorts.

Might you just use Cokers? I'd think the handling characteristics are much the same as the Shinkos as they both have an early-style linear tread.

TC

Thanks TC.

Apparently I can't use the search button correctly the first time around.

I did some research and found out that the earlier xs650s came with an 18" rear wheel, why they switched to a 16" in later models is beyond me.

So I guess heres some more rookie questions. 1)Where can I find an complete 18" rear wheel 2)If I go the 18" rear route.. Do I have to run an 18" front or can/should I run my stock 19" front?

If I do go with the 18" rear the Coker's will do just fine, I just wanted the Shinko look (didn't think anyone else made one similar)