pamco ignition no spark

ductglue

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Well Ive been a long time lurker with no posting so i guess Ill go ahead and get my intro out of the way. I ride a 79 650 and a 90 harley softail. My softail bit the dust so I decided to go ahead and get the 79 up and running again. Ive been riding for about 15 years and have never had both bikes down at one time. These bikes are my main mode of transport so when one goes down i have the next one to ride while fixing on the other. Im from fayetteville nc.

Well here we go got the pamco ignition kit from mikes xs. It came witht he black coil. Well I went through and and followed the installation directions to the t. got the red wire from pamco on a ignition switch with a 7a bus fuse also the coil is tied into that with the black and white wire. green wire goes to the blue wire and black to a good frame ground. I just put it in the bike and to my avail no spark at all. Battery has 12.7 volts can anyone help. Thanks. If you need more info let me know.

oh yeah i also have the pma kit on the bike. green to ground red to battery i have both power wires coming directly off the battery with the fuseable links connected. I did the ohm test from plug to plug on 200k and got a reading of 27.6ohms so im guessing the coil is no good. can someone confirm this? Did I mention this kit is brand new out the box. Im thinking the coil is bad out the box. If i fried How did I manage to do that? Id hate to get another one and the same thing happen. How do I test the ignition to see if it is getting the correct amount of power? I tested it at the connections on the board green and red and got 12.7 volts anywhere else to test it? Thanks

Last edited:
Try temporarily wiring the PAMCO to a separate battery sitting on the floor to see if your problem is the PAMCO or the PMA.

like 2 batterys at the same time one to the pma and one to the pamco? Tried that and didnt get anything.