rear suspension bolt, help.

kevenc

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm a total beginner when it comes down to mechanic. Here's a video of my problem.

Previous owner had a vertical license support that I removed, now the bolt is way too long, but I'm waiting on a replacement. Basically I cannot get the bolt to align with the thread on the other side. It feels to me like the shocks bottom hole of rubber goes just a bit too low for me to align it with the other end. My question is can I just scrape the rubber so I can align it or what else should I do ?

Last edited:
Not sure what to tell you. Those lower shock mounts can be a pain. You know that bolt went in before. I would not shave the rubber. You may need to compress the shock a bit to get it to line up. Keep trying. Hammer?

It looks like your rear wheel is on the ground. Raise the bike so the rear wheel is off the ground -- center stand, if you still have it. (Don't raise it by putting blocks under the swingarm!) The other shock will push the swingarm down. Now, put a wedge under the rear wheel, and raise the wheel until the hole is perfectly aligned.

Last edited:
I had a similar issue with the rear shocks lower mounts. My solution is to carefully taper the end couple of threads on the bolt. Not to remove the thread completely, but to give a lead in for the thread to start. Only taper the first couple of threads a little. That's enough for the bolt thread to engage leaving a full thread engagement to secure the rear shock.

They can be a bugger sometimes.
If you remove the shock completely and then thread that bolt in to the bottom first I believe you'll see that it will fit.....of course the top has to be mounted first but you'll know the bottom will fit. Try loosening the top for some wiggle room to get that bottom fitted.