Rejetting opinion...

Jawknee21

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
In your own opinions, is it dumb or a waste of money to buy a "jet kit"? They supposedly sell the jets I need based on my modifications and my elevation. Is it easier or cheaper to do it another way? I've never done it before so I could end up buying way more stuff than I need...

Posted via Mobile

The BS34 automagically compensates for elevation. I don't know about the others. You don't say what ya got.

83 heritage special. Don't even know what carb I have. And I plan on getting drag pipes from Gordon scott but I'm gonna run baffles too. He gave me an idea where to start but what if it's close but not close enough? I'll be buying more jets and having to wait for them each time in the mail...

Posted via Mobile

BS34's were stock on it. I would find out what people are using who have a similar setup and copy them. No use starting from square one with a whole box of jets, it seems to me. Maybe buy two or three in the range of the suggested value. Also, with my BS34's I've gotten them so lean it was hard to start and so rich it smoked, just by changing float height.

Yup if you customize you get an idea of where to start and change jetting till it works on YOUR bike, there are no magic jet kits. Beware anyone who claims they have one because they have already lied to you. That is what "customize" means. CV carbs don't really "compensate" for wrong jetting they just cover it up a bit. I do a lot of bike stuff but seldom change exhausts because jetting properly IS a lot of work. I buy a lot of abandoned XS650 projects, many of them had after market exhausts, NONE so far have had non stock jetting. Do you think there's a lesson there somewhere?

Yep. Nobody can tell you what jets to use besides your motor. You have 5 basic options.
1. Pay to have the bike jetted with dynamometer and EGA. You'll need a new rear tire when it's over.