Right side carburetor is pouring gas through the overflow

Bminer23

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys.. So I'm new to this lol shocking right? I know but I have a little story for you all.. After my grandfather passed away I inherited his 1975 yamaha xs650 everything is still stock and the bike only has 4500 miles on it.. Little rust pits but easy clean up. After a weekend of working on it we got it running.. My dad had tears in his eyes Bc the last time he saw the bike running was back when it was purchased. My grandfather had it In his garage in Florida where it sat for probably 15 years or so.. Anyways I'm having an issue with the right carb.. It just pours gas through the overflow like a faucet but the bike is running smooth no noises no sputtering nothing I took the carbs off and cleaned them.. Boiled in lemon juice and worked like a charm the bike never ran so good.. This gas problem seems to be the only issue.. I checked the floats and pins and needles and everything seems to check out.. I will say that I road it 2 days ago with no issues what's so ever no leaks or anything.. Last night I kicked it over first kick started right up like the 70s haha but while it was parked/idling gas poured.. Can some one help me please!

OK haha thank you..now one thing I was wondering about was the petcocks.. I only had the left petcock on.. It seemed like as soon as I turned them both on it was instant flooding.. So I assumed it was the float not making the connection to shut off the gas flow

Welcome to the forum and thank you for identifying your bike. However, many of us older types like pictures, especially of what sounds like a practically NOS '75, so please humour us!