RPM holding high, Can't figure out what is wrong for the life of me.

DrMengleYa

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Whatsup guys,
I'm really new to the XS (i usually work on Harleys) community and hoping you guys will be of some help. My buddy just bought a 77' XS bobber with a 1 into 2 Mikuni carburetor swap and i cant get the damn thing to run right for him. upon riding the bike it holds the revs super high and will keep revving until I blip the throttle super hard and it calms down. when the choke is in the on position it seems to run okay, but tumbles at low rpm with load on the engine and has an issue idling. When i have the choke in the off position it idles beautifully but when riding or opening the throttle, the engine will get caught at high rpms until i blip the throttle hard or shut it off. we have a bunch of different jets that we have been swapping out for the past 8 hours trying to rectify it (the guys that sold us the bike said it would probably need to be rejetted), but nothing i do seems to get it right. we have tried dozens of combinations (main, pilot and needle jet) and to no avail it will still hold the rpms. one combo did seem to make it not as bad but still wasnt running perfectly. I thought I was a good mechanic but today has proven otherwise. for the love of God help me. :banghead:

Hi Doc and welcome,
the carb jets most likely ain't the right ones but that won't make the carb stay open.
Look at the throttle linkage, the throttle return spring and the diaphragm instead.
And if all else fails put an old-fashioned non-diaphragm carb on it.

There's so many variations in the customs that it would take a book of guesses without knowing the specifics of the bike's setup.

But, my first guesses would involve sticking carb slide and ignition timing. Perhaps too advanced with worn advancer and weak springs....

A hung side whether from linkage or cable springs to mind as the others suggest. But, being you're experienced I'd assume you're past that.