serious newby electrical problem

xschop

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
So I have zero experience with electrical...I'll he honest...and idk bit as of late when I flip the switch on my bike...my lights take a couple minutes to turn on...and when they do they turn on very dim...after a minute or two...the light turns bright and I proceed to kick the bike over and go on my way...why is my bike doing this...I have a chopped 72 xs and I have all original wiring and I am running points...the only thing I did was remove all of the stuff that doesn't make it run...I currently am running headlight tailight and toggle switch...everything else was scrapped...and today while on the freeway I lost all power and it shut completely off....please help...I'm considering buying a multimeter from harbor freight but not sire what I should test and how...I have my manual ready also but still not clear enough for me please help...I live in milwaukee wi. And wanna ride before winter starts coming up....:eek:

Hi xschop,
how can you live without a multimeter?
I guess the same way as some folks can live without an air compressor?
Go get a multimeter, first thing!
The Ohms setting measures resistance; the D.C.Voltage setting measures
(wait for it - - -)
Voltage.
There's also some other settings on most multimeters but the Ohms & D.C.Volts settings are all you need to check what's going on with your bike's wiring.
The wait then dim then bright lighting after you turn the key but before the engine starts phenomenon?
Buggered If I know but there's no effin' way that should happen.
Happy fast learning curve for you, your new multimeter and a wiring diagram.

Hahaha thanks man I appreciate it...was just hoping for a little more specifics about what should everything read out to and what setting do I put the multimeter at when testing the stator etc etc...I'm going to harbor freight now to pick up a multymeter

Grettings xschop,