Slow gas/drip leak from carb

20ftollie

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Just picked up a great '75 XS650B with only 2,500 original miles.... a true barn find. Sat in a Detroit garage for over 25 years before my uncle grabbed it up a couple months ago. It's since been gone through - new battery, carbs & petcocks cleaned, tank dipped, plugs, etc.

It runs really well and a lot of fun to ride. I'll admit that I'm not very experienced working on old carbs but I love old bikes and am willing to learn (I've been studying the carb guide).

So the issue I'm having is that when the bike sits, there is a very slow gas drip coming out of the drain tube underneath the right side carb. It's very slow but enough that there was a good size puddle under the bike the day after it started happening. It only leaks when the bike is off. While it's running, there's no problems. The petcocks are turned off while it's leaking.

So is the petcock itself causing the carb to overflow? When I pull the gas line off the petcock, no gas comes out while it's turned to off.

Or is the float level adjustment wrong, causing the gas to keep coming out? If so, is it possible to remove the bottom of the carb to adjust the float without pulling the carbs off the bike?

Any help is appreciated.

-Matt

The float needle is probably not sealing completely in the offending carb. As it sits over night, the fuel left in both lines drains into that carb and overfills it. A slow leak like this wouldn't show while running. The bike uses the fuel faster than it can overfill. Yes, you can access it with the carbs in place. Drop the float bowl, remove the float & float needle, and remove the float needle seat. It might just need a cleaning or it could be worn and need replacing.