Slow-mo Chicago build...

Paddy399

Still Lots To Learn
Reaction score
Well, here we go. I bought this bike last year with all the intentions of turning it into a hard tail and now... well... I have no idea what I want to build. So with that in mind, let me introduce you to my bike. It's an '81 Special II. Pretty, right? So... umm... yeah.

The only thing I know for sure is I have absolutely no direction for this build. (Here is where I mention this is my first build.) Please feel free to leave comments, suggestions or make me the butt of any and all jokes. The only thing I will ask in return, other than free advice, is KEEP ME MOTIVATED! I have a tendency to start projects and then lose interest.

I've added a few picures for your entertainment. The first are in it's stock state other than the handle bars and the aftermarket exhaust the PO slapped on. I really do mean slapped on. The right side muffler wasn't even attached to the header pipe...

Like I've said, I have no real direction as of right now but I do know I want to get the bike running well first. It ran ok last year though I didn't have much time to ride. It would pop out the right side on acceleration but I'm almost positive it still has stock jet settings. With the history these bikes have for running lean, I'm starting my endevor into the carbs. (Note: I did do some minor maintenance last summer including compression tests, checking of the valves and cam tensioner. All checked ok.)

Hopefully I'll have the carbs back on by sometime next week. Wish me luck!

And yes, I think those are the stock air filters.....

Attachments

• photo (14).jpg
    photo (14).jpg
    252.1 KB · Views: 243
  • photo (15).jpg
    photo (15).jpg
    196.9 KB · Views: 233
  • photo (16).jpg
    photo (16).jpg
    211.9 KB · Views: 201
  • photo (19).jpg
    photo (19).jpg
    134.1 KB · Views: 224
  • photo77.jpg
    photo77.jpg
    138.1 KB · Views: 270