Spark Plug Firing With Key In On Position And Engine Not Running

Quasikaze

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm still new to mechanical work so please correct me if I'm wrong, but a spark plug isn't supposed to be firing with the key in the on position. It should only fire when the engine is running. The plug on the right hand side (sitting down) is firing but the left one is not. So if they are supposed to be firing, then something's wrong with the left side. If they're not, then something's wrong with the right.

Thoughts?

As soon as you turn the key on and the ignition is powered, the plugs will spark as you turn the motor over. How do you think this or any motor starts?

"as you turn the motor over"

That's the thing. I'm not turning it over. The key is simply in the "ON" position.

Well then, my best guess is that the motor just happened to stop at the point where that right cylinder was ready to fire it's plug. Dual points ignition I assume? Then this could happen. The later electronic ignition fires both plugs at once so only one firing might indicate a problem.

Okay, that makes some sense.

Isn't the plug is supposed to fire when the cylinder is at TDC? I have it set to TDC, but on the left cylinder, not the right. Does that mean the timing is off and I need to set the timing or is that even something you do on a 1980 XS650 SG?

To be honest, I'm somewhat confused on the ignition system right now. The research I've done hasn't clarified it, yet. I think I have TCI because I have a button I can press to start it. I think that also means I don't have points. Please correct me if I'm wrong, though, because I'm certainly confused.