timing/compression/fuel/air

Jack455

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Ok, I'm a newb but picking things up. I've had my 650 on the road for one week, the start of which it was running fine but improved as I gave it a good day long ride. I then lubed the clutch cable because it was stiff and afterwards learnt that a kickstart works on the clutch.

Now the real problem.

Carried on riding fine, sort of, until the other morning on the way to work when it started to feel rough from starting, cut out after a miles riding at a set of lights. I kicked it and it started fine, ran another mile and it cut out again but this time took a good 10 minutes of kickstarting to get it going, in which time I saw a good puddle of oil (it was raining hard so it spread into a lovely rainbow puddle) which I have now located to coming from the starter but oil level looks fine still.

I got to work and now it is a pig to start, over 50 kicks varying techniques till I got it going. I noticed it didn't seem to be holding compression so engine just turned most of the time but no firing. When I got it going it was jerky at times, misfiring at low revs and cutting out any opportunity it got at a junction.

What are your thoughts?

We need a lot more information on your bike. Do you have pictures? What carbs and what ignition are you running? Battery or no battery? Custom wiring or vintage with the original fuse box? I would check for the usual AIR, FUEL, FIRE…

1) Are your filters clean?
2) Are you getting fuel? (Do you have fuel filters) Will it start if you spray a little starter fluid in the carbs?
3) Are both plugs sparking?
4) If this checks out start looking at your timing

Kicking and feeling no compression? Like the kickstarter just pushes down with no resistance? I had that problem too and it freaked me out, until i learned that the clutch not being adjusted correctly causes the kickstarter not to catch. Adjusted my clutch and the kickstart worked fine.