Timing Question

vincemoccio

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

New to the forum. Quick question for everyone regarding my current project.

I currently rebuilt (top end rebuild, new electrical etc.,) a 78 XS650. The bike fires right up and rides nice. Only problem is at times the bike dies while idling or when I pull in the clutch while riding in first gear coming to a stop. I've already increased my idol jet to 45 (mixture screws at 1.5 turns, cleaned the carbs, adjusted the valves, purchased new spark plugs, ensured there were no leaks.

I'm assuming there is a timing issue because I installed a new Hugh's Handbuilt PMA. Any one have an opinion on wether or not this is the problem? If so, could someone guide me in the direction of where I can learn to do the timing. I've never done this before.
:banghead:
Thanks!

Hi All,

New to the forum. Quick question for everyone regarding my current project.

I currently rebuilt (top end rebuild, new electrical etc.,) a 78 XS650. The bike fires right up and rides nice. Only problem is at times the bike dies while idling or when I pull in the clutch while riding in first gear coming to a stop. I've already increased my idol jet to 45 (mixture screws at 1.5 turns, cleaned the carbs, adjusted the valves, purchased new spark plugs, ensured there were no leaks.

I'm assuming there is a timing issue because I installed a new Hugh's Handbuilt PMA. Any one have an opinion on wether or not this is the problem? If so, could someone guide me in the direction of where I can learn to do the timing. I've never done this before.
:banghead:
Thanks!
probably a combination of things.
did you change the timing before installing the PMA?
It could be timing.
have you timed it?
did you find TDC and mark it on rotor?

Thanks for the quick reply. No, i didn't not adjust timing. Can you guide me in the right direction on how to adjust the timing? I can't seem to find it in the "How to" section...

Vince

Hi Vince,