total noob question while saying hello

nicholauslee

XS650 Member
Reaction score
hello guys and gals (i'm assuming there's at least a girl or two),
new to this forum, I had what I thought might be a useful question and posted it on another forum and got reffered back to this one. I've known of this site, but haven't been on here much at all.

I got a 77 xs650 a few months back for dirt cheap, the problem was that it smoked like crazy. I figure it probably has to do with the valves or rings or something relatively fixable. So when I get it home I immediately start ripping into her. Mind you, this is my first bike I can call my own, although I was raised around motorcycles (mostly harleys).
Long story short, here's the question:

"My piston rings don't seem to match up quite right. My cylinder is marked 964, which as I understand means it's 74.964mm. My compression ring (top ring) is marked with RN with no numbers, which if I understand correctly means it should be a standard bore ring. However, my wiper (middle) ring is marked R with the numbers 25 on the opposite side of the split, meaning it's a first oversize, I think. the expansion rings don't appear to have any markings on them at all that I can see however.
Just wondering if I'm confused about this and it makes sense to you guys, but it seems to me that at least one of those rings can't be quite right? Shouldn't they both be marked the same?"

Now I've gotten my cylinders back today, they are marked 016. I assume someone just got an oversized ring set and tried to file down the gap, if I understand everything right it should be a stock bore piston and cylinder.

next question, does anyone know where I can buy a standard bore ring set? mikesxs appears to be out of stock, and I can't find them anywhere else yet.

hello guys and gals (i'm assuming there's at least a girl or two),