Trailering

ReycleBill

Part Time Tyrannicide
XS650.com Supporter
Reaction score
Allow me to begin by stating I am a retired truck driver with over 3 million miles of accident-free experience across the USA, Canada, and Mexican border towns. I know how to pull trailers.

The item in the photo is a quick disconnect for motorcycle brake lines. I currently own a tandem axle 20' long trailer with tilt bed and a winch. I made it myself and it pulls, turns, and stops like a dream. It has rub rails, removable sideboards, and plenty of tiedowns. It can carry more motorcycles than my half ton '88 Dodge pick-up can safely haul. It also has hydraulic brakes actuated by a master cylinder located in the tongue. I will never again pull any trailer without brakes on the trailer itself. Besides, the GVWR on my truck is only 5,000 lbs and the overall weight of the truck alone is 4,400 lbs.

I'm considering building a much smaller single axle trailer and would like to use these quick disconnects rather than a $300 brake actuator which is more than the entire cost of constructing the trailer myself as I already have most everything necessary. Besides, electric brakes are less reliable and cost more than the hydraulic brakes will cost me.

My question: Do any of you have experience with these quick disconnects? Do these things actually work without leaking or getting air in the lines?

Quick Disconnect.JPG

I spent 17 years in a business that built equipment that was mounted onto trailers. 95% of the units we built had brakes. I agree that trailer brakes are a good thing. In our province, brakes on single axle trailers are not mandatory. However there’s a silly rule that states without brakes, the tow vehicle must have sufficient braking ability to stop the tow vehicle and trailer safely. I say it’s a silly rule because how do you measure that. Of course you need to have sufficient brakes to safely tow the combined load.