USING DIFFERENT RECTIFIERS and DUAL BRIDGE RECTIFIERS

ANLAF

XS650 Guru
Reaction score
Fellers

I am researching rectifiers because mine is turning the AC voltage to 15v DC at around 3000 revs. I understand that the solid state regulator-rectifier has six diodes in there - I am still learning, but is this a bridge rectifier or a dual bridge rectifier?

Secondly, is it the regulator or the rectifier which needs the heat sink?

ANLAF

I think what you want is the regulator. The rectifier simply converts the AC to DC. The regulator regulates the output voltage. Yours seems to be making DC fine, just too much of it. It's possible you could clip the wires going to the regulator part of your combo unit and just continue to use the rectifier portion of it. Or, you could go with a separate rectifier and regulator. I know what works for a stock system, haven't a clue what you need for a PMA.

Thanks 5twins. Yes, the stock unit has the seven wires, but the PMA to compatable reg/rec has 5 - three from the alternator and a positive and negative.

It makes sense now - I have tested the unit but that is the diodes which is the rectifier, now I get it. The regulator control the voltage. It's the regulator part that has failed and I can't do a test for that part except observe the result - 15.4v... Yes, 5twins. Need replacement unit.

Thanks

ANLAF

I just can't understand why the bike is spluttering as it is - yes, 15v is too high, but no 10amp fuses have blown. Still learning about the properties of electronics, so I can only imagine the electronic ignition does not like the extra voltage. Still no excess current, though. One day I will understand - when I can walk on rice paper.

ANLAF

Are you using a battery or capacitor? If not then measuring the reg/rect output with a DMM may give strange results as the voltage is more or less "pulsating".

Pekka