Velocity stacks vs pod filters

PaulF87

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I did some searching, seems like a lot of mixed reviews on velocity stacks. My bike currently has BS38s and high flow pod filters on it and it's been jetted accordingly. I've had to do some tweaking to get it running right but it seems to be really happy right now. I got a little anxious one night and dropped the hammer on some custom stacks with fine brass screens. I feel like they will flow better than the pods but how much more messing around with these carbs will I have to do or is this going to be a marginal difference in flow, thus negating any need for further adjustments?

Thanks in advance for any input!

I'm no expert but I would think every velocity stack is gonna be different, just as there is a difference in pods.

The first thing you should do when you get the stacks is put a flashlight to the screen and see if light gets through. See how well they are gonna keep crap out. If they seem sufficient then give them a try, see how the bike rides and read the plugs. You may or may not have to jet up but it shouldn't be anything really drastic.

Hi Paul and welcome,
the problem with stacks is that they don't keep the dirt out which is most likely one of the reasons why those old Britbikes wore out so quick.
By the time you put enough wire mesh across them to keep the dirt out it ain't a velocity stack no more and you may as well have put pods on it.

Hmmm, Thanks for the input guys... I might just throw them on for shows or something. I love the look and I realize that they do not have the same filtration qualities of an actual filter but the screen should keep big stuff out at least for short trips and such.

Velocity stacks are for racing. Racers typically rebuild their motors every off season. If you don't mind doing that then by all means, run the velocity stacks. Looking cool ain't cheap, huh.