what can you do to make the rear drum brake better?

shark1979

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
i am new to this xs650. the rear brakes dont seem to work so great. i know that drum brakes are not known for being great brakes. is there anything i can do to help this?

Have you rebuilt them? That is where I started. Above and beyond that I would maybe Google "how to improve drum brakes".

Start with a total disassembly and cleaning. Go from this .....

DrumDirty.jpg

..... to this (yep, same hub) .....

DrumClean2.jpg

Mark the shoes "top" and "bottom" before removal so you can put them back where they were. Lightly grease the shoe pivot points, remove the pivot shaft from the hub and grease that too. Lightly sand the shoes and drum to break and remove any glaze. Lightly oil the springs so they don't rust.

If that doesn't help much, consider new Ferodo shoes from 650Central.

You can adjust the shoes till they're real close to the drums, and set the brake pedal high so that your foot doesn't point too far downward when you've got it stomped. It will give the impression of a stronger brake. Careful not to lock it up at speed; can be hazardous to your health. Some people (including me) set the rear brake opposite of how I just suggested, for that reason.

+1 to all of the above. And just as important, use 220 garnet paper (sandpaper with sand on it, not wet-or-dry paper, which will leave metallic deposits) and acetone for cleaning. Clean with acetone, bust the glaze with the 220, clean again with acetone, repeat as needed. Then bed those new Ferodo shoes in gently.

Bonus the rear brake is very simple to work on just "fold" the shoes off the pivots replace them the same way. Work on the pivot shaft till it it turns freely. The ideal brake job involves turning the shoes on a lathe so they have exact same radius as the drum. But more than likely a simple clean up will return it to good function.