Exhaust specs for midrange

Firerunner

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I talked with MMM for a bit yesterday while ordering new chain, sprockets, and some other bits and pieces. I always enjoy ordering from 650 Central because I end up learning so much during the process.

I am currently running stock 17/34 with just the headpipes. I mentioned to MMM that I was about to build the exhaust. He advised designing a 38-40" long dual pipe exhaust out of 1 1/2" pipe, necked down to 1 3/8" after the bends in order to maximize the midrange for streetability with 18/30 or 18/32 sprockets.

My pipes will likely follow the frame in a similar to stock configuration. Is anyone running something similar? Do you have pics? I'd like to be able to visualize a 40" pipe and I am away from my bike right now.

As another person that is about to build new pipes, has weak midrange, and wants optimal in-city streetability, I am extremely interested in this discussion.

Bear in mind, I am still learning here, and am just regurgitating what I've read. Check this out : http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=594484

The last post is very interesting to me. In automotive race exhaust tuning, there are claims of up to 20% peak hp increase by creating a suction wave to assist in scavenging exhaust gases from the exhaust port, and depending on cam characteristics, the cylinder. However, for streetability, we don't want a "peaky" powerband. We do, however, want a decent amount of power in a lower, broader powerband.

So, for maximum midrange, can we take advantage of a suction wave design (increasing diameter in the exhaust at some point by no more than 2:1) and tune to the desired range by varying the length of the primary pipes? This would, of course, change the timing of that suction wave.

Obviously, a truly tuned exhaust would be built to match cylinder head flow characteristics and valve timing. For most of us, those factors are unaltered from stock... For now.