64 Triumph chopper rolling frame

DG65

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Has anyone out there put an XS 650 engine into a Triumph hard tail frame before? What kind of mods, if any, have to be done. Found a decent motor and a cool old frame in a junkyard but I have never done anything like this before, so please go easy on me. Thanks:D

Thanks bigjimmyw13. Good luck to you man. Have you posted any pics yet?

Sure have. You can check out my build thread HERE. The first post is a dump of pics b/c I had a thread over at 650rider previously and then just brought it over here. Right now I think I have fried another ignition module, but not sure how this time. I get another one tomorrow and we'll see how it goes from there, but other than that. I'm about to disassemble for paint and maybe some powdercoat. Once I get it running again.

The forks are extended right now, but I'm seriously considering putting the stock ones back in. It's raked to accept +4" tubes and it's a TCBros hardtail so yeah I think it's 3" stretch. You have any pics of what you're looking at? Also what do you know about the condition of the engine?

No pics yet. I will hopefully post soon. The engine has sat for 4.5 yrs now, good compression. Guy who sold it to me is a mechanic. He and his son bought it running took off the original carbs and sold them with plans of installing Mikuni 34mm carbs. They were going to build a chopper. Son got married, both lost interest. The frame is a way cool, old school frame. Definitely a chopper!! If this works out the goal will be to look good going slow

Yeah from everything I have read and seen going with the original forks makes sense and handling improves dramatically. Lowering the stock front forks also creates a really cool stance in my opinion.

Good point. Is handling the issue, or do you not care for the look you have?