75 Carb Dual Cables-converting to 1 cable

Mad Dawg

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello guys,

I've searched quite a few sites and not been able to come up with an answer, so I'm sorry if this has been asked before.

I have a 1975 xs 650 with stock carbs on it. The guy I bought it from told me I'd probably want to change the carbs from the dual cable throttle cable to a later year set of carbs with the single throttle cable. He stated that the dual throttle carbs were notoriously finicky. I am a noob motorcycle mechanic, though I have done quite a bit of reading on carbs the last few weeks. Before I purchase anything, I wanted to ask the opinion of fellow xs650 owners.

1. Has anyone converted the dual throttle cables into a single throttle cable? If so, how did you like it? I was told keeping the cables in sync were the main problem with the stock 75 setup.

2. If a new carbs are the best route, which should I look for? I would much rather have a set that is reliable and as easy as possible to work on over a high performance part. I have looked into the 2 into 1 conversion threads here and on other forums and would prefer NOT to do this... the reason is simple... I find them ugly as hell (not trying to offend anyone with this setup).

3. At the moment I have pod filters and open exhaust pipes, however I have two Emgo Shorty Mufflers on the way.

On a final note, I am not against keeping my current carbs if the info I received was wrong. But if the stock carbs on the 75 will be a constant headache as I was told, I'd rather change them now, than later.

Just wanted to get a few opinions before I started spending my hard earned dollars.

Thanks,
Mark