75 xs total newbie, first build bobber build ever.

vdubbles24

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I just purchased my first bike yesterday. A 75' xs. It's seen better days but its 80% complete and turns over.

First thing I was looking at was the electrical. It's a total mess. I want to replace the harness. I saw one on mikesxs for like $34.99. I can't find much other info about it.

My plans are simple. TC bros hard tail, yz front end 21" wheel, peanut tank nothing fancy it's a bobber.

Only electricals will be headlight, tail light. No electric start or turn signals or horn. I want to keep it simple. Gonna stick with points ignition for now. Maybe next winter Ill change it over.

Thanks
Brandon

Congrats on the new xs and welcome to the site. I joined not too long ago and it's been real helpful when I've been working on my 81. Im by no means an expert on bike building but you may want to start with getting your xs running before doing anything else. If any of you bike experts out there disagree post it here.

Welcome. Sounds like a nice project you have there. Tons of info here, search is your friend. If you can't find it, someone has experienced it.

Engine and electricals are my main concern right now. I have all new ignition parts, points, condenser etc. gonna figure all that our but the wiring has me puzzled. I've been a VW guy for the past 15yrs. Want to try something different.

My last VW build was a rhd volksrod truck.

8133327d.jpg

9B547F1E-8738-45C3-90EF-F5C588DD1EB1-161-00000010004606A2.jpg

As for xs I wanna go with this look.

2D4F6894-9452-4F5B-8321-4145552BF972-161-000000100C3FD0E3.jpg

Here is my xs as of yesterday.

9BEFE8C8-4EC5-4A44-B6C1-43A7B732EDDC-161-000000107FD10E32.jpg

Drove 7 hrs from Indiana to west Virgina to pick it up. $400 I couldn't pass it up.

I've searched and searched still getting used to this forum. Sorry I'm not lazy just trying to figure things out.

Now I've done a little research. Wonder now how to wire these up to my 75' xs