83 Yamaha XS650 won’t idle

Chrismira

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, just purchased my 1983 Yamaha XS650 and it just won’t idle. Turn it on and need to give it some throttle to get it going but immediately dies after the revs come back down. Tried adjusting the idle screw but doesn’t seem to be doing anything. Novice here so need some help. Thx

Little history on the bike? A couple pics, over all, and close up of the carbs?
Cuz we don't know yet, is it pristine, stone stock, fresh out of a barn, or a hightly modified chopper?
What ignition?
Have valves been set,
cam chain tension,
compression test,
Any recent carb work done?
Fresh gas.
Have you checked voltage while running, IE is it charging?
Remove, ground, both spark plugs, crank it, strong spark?
Timing checked?
Welcome aboard.
If you're willing to do the work, AND tell us what you have and haven't done, we're willing to help.
One of many excellent self help articles found in the tech section. https://www.xs650.com/threads/bike-wont-start-running-rough.390/

1659529781479.png

Last edited:
Welcome! In addition to Gary's queries....
Often these old bikes have been sitting for some period of time. Given the symptom, the first order of business is to determine if it is running on both cylinders. Start it up and keep it running for for a bit (perhaps 15 sec) then check the temperature of each exhaust header: method 1) use an infrared thermometer, method 2) quickly touch a dampened rag and listen for somewhat equal "hiss" indicating both pipes got hot.

Can ya post pics of your machine with extra attention to top carb area?

Welcome! In addition to Gary's queries....