banshee swap on 1983 heritage special help

deshi

The high tech redneck
Reaction score
Hello, New to posting here but been reading for a month and learned so much. I am fed up with the stock charging system that keeps failing and leaving me stranded. After reading a lot about the PMA on these forums I am thinking that is the most cost effective solution for me rather than to spend the money to replace parts that will wear out soon enough again. I am thinking of getting the PMA kit on mikesXS and am not sure exactly which pamco ignition setup I need since I currently have TCI. I am not a big gearhead I am still learning and have only had this bike for a month and rebuilt the motor and carbs. Runs like a champ till the darn battery goes low then it start missing and generally runs like a harley, ok I am kidding to harley fans. But just a bit of help on what is the best affordable solution to getting a PMA going since I am on a limited budget, and just need to get this bike going well enough for commuting to work since I cannot afford the gas for my 8cyl car. Much appreciation for this forum.

i liked that one as well i just really need to make sure i get the proper pamco ignition for my bike 1983 heritage special pure stock right now. i really love this bike it is a fun ride when its working and i notice the stock charging system really blows since I tend to mope around town in 5th gear to save on fuel i am rarely over 2100 rpm's unless on the highway and im not sure what rpm is acceptable to be at without blowing a head. if i ride higher rpm be it over 3000 then it seems to charge slightly better.

The stock charging system is a good system if properly maintained. It won't charge well around town, the low rpms and using the brake lights and turn signals draws down the battery faster than out on the highway at higher rpms.
A PMA will act the same.