Bike stumbling off idle & missing under hard(er) acceleration

ThrottleJock

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, newbie here. Been riding/racing various bikes for 20yrs but this is my first foray into bikes as old as I am. I picked up a clean little '76 that was nicely taken care of, and I'm having a ton of fun with it so far.

I do have one issue I'd like advice on where to start -

Bike starts 1st kick piece of cake, settles into a decent idle once warm, rides around nice at low throttle openings, but it occasionally stumbles and dies when taking off from a stop, and when I run it hard it misses a little bit and doesn't pull all that clean. Seems to get worse when it gets hot. Also, it seeps a little fuel thru the carb overflow if I leave the petcocks open when I'm done riding. Not sure if that's a clue.

Previous owner recently changed plugs, wires, points, condenser & battery. He didn't touch the electrical system or carbs.

What do I check/clean/replace first?

THANKS! :thumbsup:

sounds like it's running lean.

is it real hot when your riding? does the exhaust crackle after a good ride?

what colour are the plugs?

check your float levels for the fuel coming out of the carb.

AWww I didn't think about that.

It's been 95 degrees every day here, and it does it worse when the bike's hot. Gonna go check the plugs now!

thanks!

You'll have to learn to get into the habit of shutting your petcocks off. The float needles were meant to meter the fuel flow, not act as an on/off valve for long periods of time. A full tank of gas pushing against them can overpower them.

Yep on the petcock shutoff, that's no biggie and def solves that prob.

Went for another ride today to further diagnose miss, and it stalls & misses less when lights are OFF. Also, it seems to run better if I kick the everloving shit out of it.