Blowing Coils Left And Right

Golfwang

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Greetings!:thumbsup:

Alright, let me start out by saying I am a complete newbie at motorcycles in general... and an electrical problem is pretty much my biggest fear come to life.
Now then...
I just got this sweet bobbed out XS in my hands and the thing started fine a few times... then while it was running it just DIED on me. Did some digging and found out it's not getting a spark anymore. Well, I sort have guessed that the coil went bad and ordered a new coil in... Installed the new coil and she started back up on the first kick! I let it run for a little bit... then :CHUG: SHE DIED ON ME YET AGAIN! Lo and behold: NO SPARK... AGAIN!
What the hell is going on around here?? It's got a Boyer Bransden Micro Digital ignition system (blue box). And the coils for this P.O.S. are NOT cheap.

CAN ANYONE HELP A NEWBIE OUT!?!? I just wanna ride my scooter... :(

Well its pretty much a completly custom job. Its a 71 frame with a rebuilt 1980 engine in it. All the wiring has been stripped down to just the basics. No blinkers, no switches... nothing. Hell I just found out the guy I bought it from didn't even put fuses in there! I guess I could wire in a fuse or two in hopes of blowing a fuse instead of blowing the coils... but that wouldn't exactly fix my problem, it would just make it a "fuse blowing" problem. Any ideas on what's wrong? Maybe the electronic ign is bad? Maybe a bad rectifier? ...would a bad rectifier even have anything to do with it?

I don't know much about the Boyer ignition. I'm sure someone that does will come along and teach us both a little about them.
As far as fuses go, they can prevent fires in the wiring. It should have at least one bwtween the battery and main switch.
It seems I have read about the box going bad, but I don't think that it will burn your coils out.