Bought my first XS650 any help would be great?

menkenmadness

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
So here is the deal. My name is Aaron and I am brand new to this site.
I bought this 1972 XS650 last night and got online to find some information before I started into the project. Stumbled upon this site and thought I would see what the folks on this site had for advice. I am a noob with motorcycles and this will be my first project. I am REALLY wanting to learn how to work on my own bike and I am totally up for the challenges it throws at me.

To start out I will just post some pictures and I would like some advice as to where I should start and the order in which I should go about fixing her up. Like I said I just bought her last night and have not done anything but take pictures.

I bought it from a guy that was kinda the middle man. All he knows about the bike is there were two owners and the guy he bought it from said it last ran in 2006 and then started having some problems with it. He gave up and bought a Harley, lol. Carbs came with it in a box, but I am not sure if they are from this bike? And I am not sure if they are all there.

Any help to get started on this bike would be awesome! I have not decided yet what I want to end bike to look like but for I just want to get it running strong and go from there.

Thanks ahead of time:D

I have added a link so that you can see the pictures at full size. I am not sure how to post larger images on this site.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/aaronboy384/sets/72157624197450044/with/4666609695/

There's some great checklists out there for the "I just bought an XS, now what?"

Check the tech section here and I think there is another list on mikesxs.net.
I too just bought one about 2 weeks ago that pretty much needs everything gone through.

I'm aiming for next season here in Vancouver (Aprilish) and it looks pretty doable, these bikes are pretty simple overall, and seem to be pretty durable, minus a few weak points :)