bs38 questions

RacerRex

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Since I'm a rookie to rebuilding carbs I'm in need of some guidance.
I've been reading some of the threads on here and found some great info but I can't figure out a few things to get it running correctly.

I have a 1973 650 with bs38 carbs and points. I've cleaned the carbs, changed diaphragms, adjusted chain, adjusted valve lash, adjusted the points and also started to mess with the timing. I did the banshee swap so I don't know exactly where the range to set the timing is at. At the moment it idles ok but I can tell it's a bit off. When you give it gas, the left carb pops (sometimes shoots out the boot).

I've read how to check if a diaphragm is bad you should put your finger over the air passage way at the mouth of the carb and lift up on the slide. It should then come down slowly. I tried this to my set and figured out the left side (choke control side) comes down quick and the right is slow. I figured, the newly replaced diaphragm was not seated correctly so for shits and giggles I swapped the diaphragms and came up with the same problem. The left still drops fast and the right is slow. I would have figured the right would drop fast now and the left slow.....:banghead: wtf? am I missing something?

I think I need to rebuild/ clean the carbs better. Also I haven't synced the carbs yet. What's the best way to do it on the bs38s since there isn't a vacuum nipple on the boots?

If this question has been answered before please point me in the correct thread. In my search I may have missed the answer.

Thanks!

The dead cylinder routine is for setting your mix screws, syncing is different. Syncing your 2 cable carbs without gauges of some sort is a 2 step process. First you must match the idle speeds between the 2 carbs, then match when the butterfly plates begin opening by setting equal freeplay in each cable.