Cleaned plugs - fast idle??

mattylmbr

mattylmbr
Reaction score
Yes - total noob - so chuckle away.

First 'vintage' bike - 1980 XS - so, not used to how fickle these things are.

Pulled my plugs (NGK BPR7EIX) and cleaned them. Did a little cleaning in a few other areas - kicked the bike next day (didn't kick after cleaning) and now fast idle and some smoke from the pipes?

Guessing I screwed up the plugs??

Um NO ! what color are they ? that the important thing !
fast idle can be a barely stuck float or the throttle hanging up somewhere....
if you blip the throttle does it settle down to a normal idle ?

...... bike could have been set to idle normally when it was real cold outside and now it's hot so it idles faster ...just turn the idle screw down on the left side a bit.....
....are those the proper plugs for that machine ? BPR7E....what's the IX stand for ? the BPR7E part sounds right though are they iridium or platinum plugs ?
You have a TCI ignition on that 1980 XS650 which I have found to be very reliable ! thats a good thing.....
but your comment on the bike being "Fickle" is RIGHT ON ! they are especially when it comes to the carburetors
I had my carbs off to clean them and set them 4 times and finally got it right, havn't had trouble with it sense !
these BS34CV carbs are notorious for having dirty passage ways in the idle circuit and choke circuit...so a in-line fuel filter is a good thing to add
a sudden change in idle may well mean an air leak has developed ! take a can of WD-40 and sprey around the intakes on both sides ( where the carbs attach to the head) to see if you get an increase in idle speed for a few seconds.... if so that shows you where the air leak is ! and what needs to be fixed
air leaks are bad ! you can melt a piston with an air leak ! so make sure that is not the cause of your fast idle !
the carb section in the "XS650 Technical Reference" section is loaded with good info ! ( under Forums/garage/xs650 technical Reference.)
Bob......