Clutch disengagement Issue

m1ster2

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!
I know I’m a total noob to this forum in posting but I’ve been constantly searching through and found a lot of good help and advice here! But here come my issue...

So I have a 79 that I picked up as a project a little while ago and have been getting it back to running order. So now is the time I need some advice.
I can’t seem to get the clutch to disengage properly... I have a new lever and cable, I adjusted the set screw in to the point where the lock nut might as well not even be on it anymore and still nothing. At a point when I pull the clutch it makes a rather unpleasant chatter, which I’m suspecting is the basket contacting the RH cover. It gets to the point where the kickstart disengages but the clutch will not. If I put it in gear and pull the clutch and try to spin the wheel it does so with very very significant resistance but it does move...

So far I’m suspecting a couple things, either 1. The disks have rusted together, I’m not sure how long the bike sat for, but to my knowledge it always had oil in the case. 2. Somebody tried to service the clutch and put too many disks in. 3. One of the various washers or bearings weren’t installed improperly. 4. The pushrods are out of spec.

If anyone has any advice or something that might be a simpler fix than just replacing everything, Or even just a better idea of what the problem might be, is love to know!

Thanks in advance!

Start by confirming that the ball bearings are in place. I'd bet the one in the worm gear is missing. IIRC the 79 has the 2 piece push rod, there should be a bearing between the two sections A standard hardware store 5/16" bearing works for both those.
81 clutch.png
#24 in the diagram, it doesn't show the one in the worm because it's supposed to be staked in place, but seldom is.

Thanks for the replys! And for pointing me in some good directions.