Dual output coil test woes...

CoconutPete

1979 XS650 Special
Reaction score
So I'm using the standard testing procedure on this dual output coil and I think the verdict is that the coil is bad. But because this is my first time testing a coil I'm doubting myself. Here are my readings. Can you let me know your thoughts? Images are titled according to test step.

1. Using the lowest scale on the meter, measure the resistance between the primary terminals with the wires removed. Should read from 2.5 to 4.5 Ohms.
  2. Using the highest scale on the meter, measure between one of the primary terminals and the center core of the coil. Should be infinite resistance. (open)
  3. Measure between one of the primary terminals and one of the plug wire terminals. Should be infinite resistance. (open circuit)
  4. Measure between one of the plug wire terminals and the core of the coil. Should be infinite resistance (open circuit)
  5. Measure from one plug terminal to the other. Should be 15,000 to 20,000 Ohms

Attachments

• 01.jpg
    01.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 145
  • 02.jpg
    02.jpg
    66 KB · Views: 138
  • 03.jpg
    03.jpg
    68 KB · Views: 138
  • 04.jpg
    04.jpg
    66.2 KB · Views: 163
  • 05.jpg
    05.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 135
IMHO keep trying. Cant see your leads in pic so we can't know if you have it right. hook up and ground two plugs, attach one side of coil to hot (+12) touch and remove a wire from other terminal to a ground, you should see spark when you REMOVE the ground connection.

Gary: do you mean leave the coil grounded (via the ground to the middle terminal) unhook one side, leave the other side plugged in (the red wire hits the coil with 12v when ignition is on, I checked) and then ground the other terminal on the coil and remove it?

Essentially, ground to the body of the coil, 12v to one side terminal and then also ground the opposite side?