engine rebuild: gaskets, sealants, silicone/rtv, loctite

GregTheKeg197

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Doing a top end rebuild on my 72 xs motor.
I bought the mikes xs Athena gasket kit and all the goods, blah blah but..

I would like some of your guys wise opinions on where you should use (or to not use at all) on an xs rebuild:

blue Loctite
silver anti-seize
permatex gasket sealer
permatex rtv silicone
permatex gasket spray adhesive (red tacky sh!t)
(basically that's the stuff I currently have on me above)

:shrug:
let me know what you guys think...

Last edited:
I see this post is a couple years old, but I too have asked myself the same question. Unfortunately there's not a a master thread or place on this site where this has been concisely stated that I've found; however, there are a lot of nuts, bolts, and gaskets on these bikes so attempting to cover this topic seems like quite the chore.

I'm no professional (so it'd be nice if the pros chimed in here), but I and those I know tend to use either red or blue Loctite on all the critical engine fasteners such as the crank case nuts and bolts; however I see Hugh uses a dab of blue and a dab of anti-seize.

Would like to know more on all these topics...

I'm no pro, but I can suggest a few things.
Anywhere that you use a gasket, there is no need to use any sealant at all. The rocker cover does not use a gasket, so I used
Three bond 1104 ( Yamabond/Hondabond is similar I believe). With the head gasket it's become standard to use some Three bond 1104 around the 4 outer studs and around the camchain opening; also at the front edge. 5twins has a good picture showing this.
Even though no sealant is normally used with gaskets, I will use a small amount of sealant if I find a gasket that wants to leak. My starter motor gear cover, on the left side, always leaked a little, so I used some sealant and that stopped the leakage.