Epic Fail :(

davem222

davem222
Reaction score
Hey guys,
So I got my newly rebuilt xs all wired up and went to kick it, nothing. I re-did everything on the bike myself (except rebuilding the bottom end) and thought "well, I probably screwed something up. I checked the float heights, good, I checked the carbs cleanliness, good (I am running mikes xs filters on it now instead of stock as well as mikes 2-1 exhaust and have not rejetted). I checked for spark, got it, and then did a compression test. Not so good. Like 100 on each and that's after 8 or 10 kicks. I'm a novice, and this is only my second top end rebuild. Anyone have any thoughts? Maybe there are some "usual suspects" that I'm not thinking of? I can smell gas in the spark plug holes and out the exhaust (just the faintest whif of it). If anyone has any thoughts, I'd appreciate the insight. Thanks.

Dave

PS: running Hugh's PMA and Pamco, could I have possibly screwed up the TDC timing royally? I haven't done any Pamco timing because I haven't gotten it running yet, could that be the issue?

You could have screwed something up or not. TDC on the compression stroke ? Pamco set up as per instructions. Check and double check.

Even with most basic settings off it should still run super crappy at least. got spark? if so, then got spark when fuel is being compressed? sounds like you have fuel... id double check your wiring possibly. good luck.

You are holding the throttle open during that compression test right? If so you have major problems there.

you need to check your valve timing is right, if it is, check your valve adjustment again. Could be a reason for such a low comp reading. Ive never done a comp check on a new build, not sure how low it should be, but id reckon more than that!

Posted via Mobile