Fried ground wire coming from ignition coils.

Sandy

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Came across some exposed wired, i believe its a ground wire. Its coming from my ignition coils...
20180711_132948.jpg

And i THINK its running all the way to my voltage regulator...
20180711_132538.jpg

Removed...
20180711_133623.jpg

And here is the wire in between
20180711_130933.jpg

Any suggestion on how to diagnose? Would a bad regulator cause that burnt wire? Would the ignition coil be the problem? Is it bad wiring? Sorry im new to this electrical stuff so any guidance would be appreciated .Thanks!

Some more info... My bike kicks and runs fine, the electric start half works. It sounds like it is grinding and spinning when i use it but it can start the bike sometimes .

I think that's the main ground wire from the harness for many components. It branches off to various items inside the harness. Obviously, it was seeing high resistance and generating lots of heat. Make sure the connection at the coil is all clean and shiny, frame area it connects to as well. The ignition coil doesn't have much to do with that wire, it just happens to be connected to it's mount.

All your wiring and connections look like they could use a good going through and cleaning. It's just part of owning an old bike, pretty much one of the "must do" things on the renovation list. Do it now to get ahead of and ward off potential problems or do it later after things fry, lol.

:agree: I might start with the battery ground strap, then go looking at grounds in the headlight shell.