Headlight Wiring Question

bryand46

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm basically new to all of this so please forgive me if I come across very naive, but I finally did just picked up my first xs650!

The guy who sold it to me told me that the headlight was out and that it was probably just needed a bulb. After opening it up, I found that it isn't even wired. And I'm not sure which wires go where, so I was hoping that someone here could help point me in the right direction.

on the headlamp harness i Have a white, green, and blue wire and they aree labeled in the harness as white(pass), green(ground), and blue(drive)

on the bike I have two black wires, a blue wire, and a yellow. I can't really tell where the yellow one goes but the blue looks like it's going to the negative side of the battery?

Any help to understand this a little better and get this hooked up would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• IMAG1964.jpg
    IMAG1964.jpg
    102.1 KB · Views: 545
  • IMAG1965.jpg
    IMAG1965.jpg
    145.5 KB · Views: 537
Not a whole lot of wiring in the headlight shell is there? Ignore the two black wires, they are the isolated (not grounded to the frame) grounds for the front signal lights. As far as the headlight, the green wire is in fact ground, based upon its connector location. (See attached photo from my 77D).

Since you only really have the blue and yellow wires coming into the shell and if you are certain that the blue one goes to battery ground, then the yellow wire hopefully is your +12volt feed from the light switch (if you have a switch.....). If that is the case, you can hook your green headlight wire to the blue wire in the shell (note: the shell is NOT grounded) and join the yellow wire in the shell to either the headlight white or blue wire, depending upon whether you want high or low beam to be active.